PHP weirdness

I use the stock PHP version installed for macOS Sierra. In my case, it’s PHP 5.6.30. It runs well on my local web apps and it’s useful for my development environment.

I’m not going to stick with it forever. The vagrant environment in Laravel (Homestead) uses PHP 7. The vagrant machine I’ve seen recommended for development comes with PHP 7. I’ll move to it eventually.

During the spring, I was trying to clean up my brew environment to allow for a cleaner install. I paid attention to the warnings, but I accidentally ran “brew upgrade” without any modifiers. I ended up installing a ton of stuff that I don’t use regularly, including PHP 7. “brew services” shows that it’s not running, so that’s OK, but still … I was not paying attention and now I have PHP 7.

I use composer to keep all my PHP packages and modules updated and tracked. I added a new module to a composer.json file, so I needed to update it. I ran composer and I got the following message:

“Your requirements could not be resolved to an installable set of packages.

Problem 1

– This package requires php ^5.5.38 but your PHP version (7.0.15) does not satisfy that requirement.”

It turns out that “which php” points to /usr/local/bin/php, which is the home brew install. When I check $PATH, it turns out that /usr/local/bin appears before /usr/bin, where the stock install of PHP 5 is located. That’s why PHP 7 is the PHP appearing in the command line.

Solutions?

1. Change the $PATH order

No! This is a bad idea. By changing this, a lot of the home brew installs will use the wrong version. It seems too much effort to fix one item.

2. Update Apache to use PHP 7.

I have to do it anyway, just not now.

3. Change the php requirement in composer.json

I could change the requirement to “>=5.6.30” instead of “^5.5.38”. The ^ requires that PHP stay within PHP 5. ‘>=‘ only requires that the PHP version be greater than or equal to that number. It’s a band-aid, but it gets the updates running for tonight.

 

 

Leave a Reply

