Adventures with Windows, part 2

As I mentioned earlier, I had trouble loading the free update to Windows 10. I now have a 5 GB file in my Windows 7 instance, but it never finished installing. It was stuck on 99% complete install for hours. I grew frustrated and decided to punt on the install.

Some websites mentioned that the Windows 10 update needed a fully patched and updates Windows 7 system in order to finish installing. It’s possible that may be true. It’s definitely true that I needed to patch Windows 7 as soon as possible. After installing an antivirus program (Avira) along with FireFox and Chrome, I decided to run the Windows update.

That did not go well either. I selected Windows Update from the Windows Control Panel and the “Other Programs” list on various occasions. I never got the impression that anything was happening. From other websites, I knew that the initial Windows update should take roughly 90-120 minutes. I would run Windows update 3 hours with  no indication that anything was happening.

I decided to try to install Windows updates directly from the browser. My browser was immediately updated to IE 11. Immediately is relative. It still took roughly 90 minutes to download and install 14 updates for IE 11 only. Once it was done, I went back to update.microsoft.com to see if that would list files to download. I was told to set the update back to Windows Update. I did not know any better, so now going to update.microsoft.com bounces me over to Windows Update again.

I may try downloading Windows 7 SP1 by itself. Maybe that will take care of some of the missing updates. It’s possible my home download speed is too slow to download any information quickly enough. It would be nice to go somewhere with a big pipe and not a lot of traffic. Where could that be?

One thought on “Adventures with Windows, part 2

  1. Pingback: Windows 7 updates, resolved | Chavez Coding Notes

Leave a Reply

