reloading files … not fun

My workstation has a weird short circuit somewhere that has to be tracked down at the help desk. While I wait, I’ve tried to install my work on the department laptop. It has not been easy.

Luckily I pushed copies of what I was working into repositories for off-site storage. Unfortunately, those repositories were slightly out of date. I did not lose anything from the database archives, from what I can tell. The CakePHP 3 repo is about two weeks out of date. I convinced myself it was OK, since I spent two weeks trying to solve a dead end regarding JQuery, AJAX and calls back to the original CakePHP action. It should be easy, but I have not been able to track down the answer yet.

I cloned the archive repository locally and reloaded that SQL into the local copy of MySQL. That went fine, with some minor issues. You can’t load a table with foreign keys until after those related tables are loaded first. (Of course.) If the file is too big to load through phpMyAdmin’s 2 MB file limit, zip it and try again. (That answer was staring at me all day long. Very annoying, once I found it.) Everything looks fine, so I move on to the next action.

Next, I needed to reload the CakePHP repository. Installing CakePHP is a little more involved than cloning a repository. For starters, the docs say I need Composer to install, which is not loaded on the laptop. I’m not sure why that would be needed for a repository clone, but why not? It can’t hurt, and I might need it, so I load Composer using homebrew. I found my old instructions for installing composer, but I forgot the final instruction, about ignore dependencies. I’m sure I thought it was obvious at the time, but it’s better if I remember putting it in. Finally, Composer is loaded, updated and ready to go.

Next, I remember that CakePHP needs specific PHP extensions to run properly (mbstring, openssl, and intl). The one I did not have was the intl extension. I checked my notes again and found a very good description of how to install the intl extension. That’s done, finally. I’m ready for CakePHP.

I clone the CakePHP repository. When I try to load it, it bombs. I get an error about permissions denied in the logs folder. I remember this error from another installation, so I’m confident I can track down the issue. I also notice that the vendors directory is empty. Now that I have the composer.json file, I update Composer and run it again. The vendors directory is back, but I still have the permissions problem.

While checking the vendors directory, I went to the config directory for some reason. I noticed that my config/app.php file is missing. That’s odd. The app.php file controls database access, so I’m surprised to see it’s missing. I finally get access to the Time Machine drive of the old machine and copy the latest version of that app.php file over. The permissions problem is not solved, so I decide to start from the basic installation with a test site described on the CakePHP web pages.

I stumble around, comparing user/group settings on folders between the fresh install and the Time Machine backup. Eventually, I get them set to something that looks like it works. However, the links to the CakePHP css pages are not working. I remember this again from a previous install. This has to do with apache and how it blocks access to .htaccess files (or something like that.)

I track down the section in the CakePHP documentation regarding URL rewriting, so I figure out how to set apache properly to get it to read CakePHP’s .htaccess file. While there, I find a related link that tells me exactly how to fix the logs and tmp directory. I’m almost ready, except for the part where my archives have disappeared. Somehow, they tables I loaded disappeared at some point. Very strange. This is important since I built a small website that uses CakePHP to display the data in the archive tables. Next stop. What happened to the archive tables?

Leave a Reply

