CakePHP 2.6.2 installation

I went ahead and installed CakePHP 2.6.2. (It bumped up one to 2.6.3 after I left for vacation. Sheesh.) I did not get a chance to try it out until I returned from my days off. I finally ran it, but I did got PHP warnings and failures.

After some investigation, it looks like I have a permission problem. I put the pages into the expected web root, but I also noticed that the group ownership looked wrong. I had similar problems with a Bootstrap installation in the same web root that were not solved until I fixed group ownership. I’ll try that fix first

> sudo chgrp -R wheel CakePHP

> sudo chmod -R g+w CakePHP

I still saw the same errors. A google search on one of the first error messages showed that I was correct in a general sense, but solved the issue in the wrong way. I needed to make sure the /app/tmp folder was writeable by the web server group, which is _www in this case

> sudo chgrp -R _www /app/tmp

> sudo chmod -R g=rwx /app/tmp

Now it works and I see more items I still have to fix.

Leave a Reply

