quick one: ruby updates

I discovered that Mavericks (10.9.5) comes with ruby 2.0.0p481 installed. Seeing how Ruby 2.1.4 has been released, I decided to figure out how to get to the newest version. I think a big chunk of it has to come through RVM / Jewelry box (app). I also think I need the brew package management system to make sure everything comes in the right place with all the required packages.

This page seems to have the best, most up-to-date instructions I’ve found on installing the whole Ruby/RVM business.

  • I installed the command line tools. I already have Xcode 6.1 installed, but I installed the command line tools through the command line, just to match the instructions.
  • gcc looks good
  • I already installed HomeBrew when I installed Python 3.4. It looks OK. I get a message about a file I don’t recognize, but I’m not going to worry about it
  • I updated git. Now it’s v 1.9.3, which is what it was before. “which git” does point to the correct version, /usr/local/bin/git
  • installed RVM, but it looks like are problems. However, version checks look OK
    • rvm -v > rvm 1.26.0
    • problem with ruby: dyld: Library not loaded: /usr/local/lib/libgmp.10.dylib
      • suggested: rvm reinstall 2.1.4 –disable-binary
    • ruby -v > ruby 2.1.4p265
    • rails -v not initially installed (odd)
      • “sudo gem install rails” could be an issue with sudo permissions
      • rails -v > 4.1.7
One thought on “quick one: ruby updates

Leave a Reply

