Keep running out of space on VMs

I think I need to add more space to a VirtualBox VM loaded on one of my machines. I’m unable to load the Ubuntu updates any more. One of the error messages implies I’ve run out of free space. The VM needs more space any way, and I’ll need to remember how to bump up the VM size for another machine, so I should relearn how to do this.

I think what I need to do is this:

  • bump up the space using VirtualBox
  • use Gparted (Ubuntu desktop app) to create a new partition in that extra space
  • move the home directories to the new partition.
  • Get rid of the extra temp space and clean up

I’ve done this before about a year ago. My notes from them imply that I should not use the VirtualBox desktop app to add more memory to the virtual hard drive. My notes show the command line commands I entered to get everything to line up correctly. I don’t remember why the desktop app did not work, so I’ll try the command line.

For GParted, I found two web pages that describe that to do, one on site point ( http://www.sitepoint.com/ubuntu-12-04-lts-precise-pangolin-using-gparted-to-partition-a-hard-disk/ ) and another one on the Ubuntu help pages ( https://help.ubuntu.com/community/HowtoPartition/PartitioningBasics ). I’ll have to review them again to make sure I don’t get any surprises.

Once I’m through with GParted, I’ll follow along with this page in the Ubuntu help pages (https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Partitioning/Home/Moving) to finish. I remember this page before. The instructions are simple to follow and I understand what is being done at each step. I don’t expect any trouble from this point, but you never know. More news later.

Leave a Reply

