Time to start learning something new

These past few weeks, I felt there was something going on. It’s the strange feeling of being treated with kid gloves, but you don’t know why. I think this is a good time to learn something new, in case I have to prove I can learn something new. I’ve decided I’m going to learn Python and Ruby/Rails.

Python is really popular at UCSD. It’s a good idea to prove I know it. Also, it looks like data science uses it heavily. Data science and “big data” seems to be the way to go to keep a job. I need to search through Coursera.com and edX.com for a Python course this year. Once again, it would be helpful to prove I know it.

Part of my Python learning will come from work, where I’m writing some scripts to scrape pages and pour the highlights into a database. However, I think it would be helpful to have my home machines set up to run Python 3 and Beautiful Soup 4. The virtualenv Python library looks really good. Virtualenv allows multiple Python environments with separate library setups.

Ruby/Rails looks like it would be useful for rapid website creation. Right now I use PHP to create websites. Building a framework to use PHP for websites takes a while. I’m not sure how useful it would be to learn Cake, Laravel, or Symfony if I can’t use them on the websites I have now. If I’m going to learn something new, Ruby/Rails seems to make more sense.

I have taken a MOOC on Ruby/Rails, through Berkeley and Coursera. I even have a certificate of completion, for what that’s worth. I still need to learn what I’m doing. I’ll probably get the pickaxe book eventually (http://www.amazon.com/dp/1937785491/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pd_nS_ttl?_encoding=UTF8&colid=241G17WBUNGO1&coliid=I2RDO4R9FOBUGV), but I want to get started on building something, so I’ll go with with Ruby/Rails tutorial at http://ruby.railstutorial.org/ruby-on-rails-tutorial-book

I like how Ruby/Rails has built-in tests. I want to learn how to bring that back to PHP. The PHP projects at work really need it.

One thought on “Time to start learning something new

  1. We have the same steps in our “to do list”. I’m learning phyton, I’m using codecademy. I usually use php to make websites. I used jquery mobile to create mobile websites but now I want to make apps. I don’t usually do large scale websites simple html, css and php is enough for small businesses, but I agree with you maybe is time to learn something new.

Leave a Reply

